Joseph Abramajtys
1 min readDec 27, 2022

--

KJ-5

Another Lyrical Piece by Prisoner KJ

I was planted in a field of wild growing things; much of my youth was spent trying to solve the mystery of this maze. But as all growing things, I wanted to savor the sun. I reached and reached, forgetting thorns grew among taller plants. They touched me…I bled.

The tiny punctures from which life’s fluid seeps healed over leaving scabs showing where wounds were.

Pursuing the sun on imaginary wings, I gave no heed to painful lessons.

Exotic days were unrestrained. No brooding clouds in my world. And nights were black, clear and infinite; stars guiding my path.

Not knowing the blue day gives way to darkness the higher you go, never realizing the great distance between stars, I sought to grow ever taller in my wild field.

One day I awoke to find myself a weed. Unwanted vegetation. Transported from my familiar field to an uncared garden of lost autumn leaves, brown baren soil, things that crawl, and more, many more clumps of weeds like myself.

Away from my familiar field enriched by shunned care and love, away from familiarity and remembered experiences, I withered.

--

--

Joseph Abramajtys

Old Man, Retired Prison Warden, Social Critic, Recovering Catholic, Pain in the Ass. Occasionally dabbles in parody and satire.